Elephant9 release first song off upcoming album ‘Arrival of the New Elders’

After a solid run of five studio albums and 2019´s two double live albums, Psychedelic Backfire I and II, Elephant9 had taken their groovy mix of high energy rock and power jazz as far as they could. In this respect Arrival Of The New Elders comes as a welcome and most timely addition to their recorded output. More varied, mature and reflective, they are as groovy as ever, but more structured and less jam oriented, with the longest tracks clocking in around the seven minute mark.

Having built a solid live reputation even before their brilliant 2008 debut Dodovoodoo, the trio boasts what is probably the strongest rhythm section in Norway, complemented with keyboard magician extraordinaire, the one and only Ståle Storløkken.

Arrival Of The New Elders was recorded by trusted stalwart Christian Engfelt, with early Dungen producer Mattias Glavå handling the mixing duties. The new album will be released on February 12 through Rune Grammofon.


  1. Arrival Of The New Elders
  2. Rite Of Accession
  3. Sojourn
  4. Tales Of Secret
  5. Throughout The Worlds
  6. Chasing The Hidden
  7. Chemical Boogie
  8. Solar Songs

Ståle Storløkken – Rhodes piano, Hammond organ, grand piano, Eminent 310, Mellotron, Continuum
Nikolai Hængsle – electric bass, electric and acoustic guitars
Torstein Lofthus – drums, percussion

Pre-order Arrival Of The New Elders here.